Umalusi Council Members

Umalusi Council is constituted by the General and Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act No 58 of 2001 amended in 2008 (GENFETQA Act). The Council Chair and members are appointed by the Minister of Education and consists of 15 members, appointed for their professional expertise in education and training.

In addition to the membership the Chief Executive Officers of the following organizations are members by virtue of their office:

  • South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
  • The Council on Higher Education (CHE)
  • Quality Council for Trades and Occupations (QCTO)

Umalusi Council is responsible for the development and management of a sub-framework of qualifications for general and further education and training from NQF levels 1-4 and the attendant quality assurance, research and certification processes.

The Council is also tasked with advising the Minister of Education on matters related to the General and Further Education and Training Qualifications Framework.